Thread: Did I ruin my semi-aniline armchair? Help!!

Exclamation Did I ruin my semi-aniline armchair? Help!!

Good morning! I am desperate for some leather advice. I bought this Semi Analine sofa, armchair, and ottoman, used for $175. It was made in '98 and is still an amazing couch and chair to sit on. It just needed a little love in the care department.

I’m new to leather and I thought that it would be fun to clean up and restore. Well, I am afraid I destroyed the leather. I did research and I decided to use honey leather cleaner and conditioner. I tested a small portion on the bottom and it went beautifully, so I did the armchair first, and some spots were fine, but others turned horribly dark and sticky. It’s hard to describe the texture, but it is not soft, supple, and buttery at all like it should. It’s definitely worse.

I then decided to use Blackrock leather n’rich, thinking that it just needed major hydration. But it’s even stickier.

Guys, I’m lost. Did I totally destroy the chair? Can I still do something to fix it? I haven’t touched the couch so how should I proceed to restore it?

Help!!

Name:  65A9A17B-33F0-4C1A-9CB1-224EFD4F7D50.jpg
Views: 463
Size:  89.8 KBName:  10EA08AD-758A-4952-88B7-CEBB2FEFA99D.jpg
Views: 426
Size:  119.2 KBName:  8313A38B-E13F-4AAE-88E3-F69E51CC14DC.jpg
Views: 309
Size:  74.1 KBName:  AC324139-8F9B-4ACF-9B8A-2083C3C34EB9.jpg
Views: 352
Size:  283.6 KB
    Last edited by chinarose67; 05-08-2020 at 08:42 AM.

>>> and some spots were fine, but others turned horribly dark and sticky. It’s hard to describe the texture,