Thread: Leather hat care

Default Leather hat care

Hello.

I'm a newbie to leather care (never owned anything leather that I actually "cared" for) and I've recently taken to wearing a leather hat I picked up while in Mexico. I've also recently started hiking long distances, and plan to stay out for days, so weather and sweat are my main concerns.

So first off, this hat was made in Mexico (bought it in Cozumel) and I'm unsure if its treated with anything. My original thought was to water proof it, but I read many conflicting opinions on whether or not this is a good idea. I would love some advise on this, and what products to use. The thing I'm really unsure about is the different approach to use for the top vs the underside...

Name:  Under.jpeg
Views: 334
Size:  362.8 KB
    Name:  Top.jpeg
Views: 301
Size:  431.0 KB
    Name:  BW.jpeg
Views: 369
Size:  547.0 KB
    (Girlfriend caught me off guard heh)

Second concern is sweat. It is a little heavy and a little hot so I do sweat a bit. I read that cleaning with baby shampoo and a damp wash cloth is a good idea. I'm wondering if I should coat the inner top portion of the hat to protect it from constantly getting wet and drying out over and over.

So those are my questions, thanks for your time and any advise you can give.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

>>> so weather and sweat are my main concerns.

An oil pull-up leather type would meet your requirement more appropriately.
    These leathers are impregnated with EffectOil-2.8. The oil acts as a natural water repellent for outdoors activities. The suffix number denotes its pH value, thus 2.8 is the pH value of this ionic negative (-ve) charged oil that neutralize the sweat from denaturing the leather as well. Keep this hat for less sweaty activities is my recommendation.

>>> My original thought was to waterproof it, but I read many conflicting opinions on whether or not this is a good idea. I would love some advise on this, and what products to use.