PDA

View Full Version : Pigmented-Monotone: Ballpoint Ink: How to Remove Ballpoint and Marker Ink from our White Sectional Leather Sofa?...by Mark.

Roger Koh
12-03-2008, 11:24 PM
I've been googling for solutions to some ballpoint and marker ink that my three-year-old left all over our white sectional leather sofa.

I saw your name in several forums discussing products such as Leather Doctor dInk7.7, plus a rinse and (as I understood it) some kind of dye that would help to re-color the leather if the d'ink7.7 removes some of the white along with the ink.

Since seeing your notes, I've searched around for these products, but can't seem to find an online store that sells them.

Do you know where I can find them?

I'm not a professional -- I'm a total novice who happens to own a leather couch that is something of a family heirloom and I'd like to buy quantities appropriate for family use.

Do you sell it or know where I can buy it?

The stain has been there for two months.

Within a day after it first happened, I attempted to remove it using Magic Eraser and some store-bought leather cleaner (I don't know the brand).

After looking around on the internet, I also tried bug spray and perfume.

I tried each of these repeatedly for about two weeks, and then gave up until I found your information online yesterday.

My method was to apply each of these cleaning agents and then rub with a soft towel, rinsing with water.

So the stains have been there for about two months and the cleaning attempts where 6-8 weeks ago.

I am pretty sure that the stain has soaked into the leather, because it looks like some of the ink is a little dissipated from the surface, and also because of how hard it was to scrub any of it out.

Please let me know if you need any more information.

Thanks Mark.

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn4/Rogerkoh/DSC02274-01.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn4/Rogerkoh/DSC02289-01.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn4/Rogerkoh/DSC02290-01.jpg