PDA

View Full Version : Aniline (Wax Pull-Up) - Restoration Hardware - Brompton Cocoa Leather Sofa Stain? - Is it a stain or removal of wax?

TheresaB
05-19-2015, 08:02 AM
Hello All,

I am new to this amazing site. I just bought a custom wax pull up analine sofa and notice this stain on it. The area has lost its shiny and appears grainy. My husband believes it is not a stain but rather the removal of the wax. We had a tech come out under the warrenty but he did not have to proper product to fix it (i.e. wax restorer) so he is coming back once he gets instructions from the manufacturer. He used a heat gun on it but I worry that he may have further depleted the oils from the hide. In the meantime, I am leaning towards DIY with Leather Doctor products and guidance. Please advise on what this "stain" appears to be and which kit should I purchase to resolve and work best for maintenance. We appreciate your input...Theresa & Ed5103

TheresaB
05-19-2015, 08:06 AM
Here is another photo of my mystery spot on the wax pull up analine sofa cushion.

Roger Koh
05-19-2015, 09:54 AM
>>> I just bought a custom Aniline Wax Pull-Up leather sofa . . .

Wax pull-up leathers derive its color from dyestuff and effect wax that gives the leather a lively distressed look. When this leather is pulled, stretched or scratched, the waxes dissipate characteristically and become lighter in those areas. Sunlight and stretching through high wear areas are two main indications that the infused wax needs replenishing. As this, effect wax behaves just like the primary fatliquor they do diminish through ageing and will need periodic replenishing. Besides contributing to the color intensity, it improves in water shedding effect. Effect wax when applied to the leather penetrates while some coagulates as fine crystal and remains on the surface. The dried surface white powdery deposits are then heat activated and when they melt, they coat the surface with a glossy sheen