Thread: Advice prior to buying products for 1992 BMW seats?

Default Advice prior to buying products for 1992 BMW seats?

Wow, what a great site, thanks Roger!

I recently bought a 1992 BMW 318i for dirt cheap due to the interiro being destroyed. I suspect the owners had a large dog in it, as chunks were ripped out of all the seats.

Today I bought a 1995 BMW318 due to mechanical problems, but since the 1992 is overall in better shape, I'm going to transfer the interior to it. As you can see by the pix, the leather seats aren't ripped at all, but have deep marks/scratches/creases. I'm starting from scratch as I've never worked with leather before (I'm an electronics tech), and want to do things right the first time. What process do you recommend, along with what products, and what results should a newbie expect?

I'm bookmarking this forum and will do some more reading as well.

Thanks!
    Curt
    Attached Images Attached Images    

>>> What process do you recommend, along with what products, and what results should a newbie expect?

If you are looking into restoring below and above surface Kit Ap7.cl is the system starter kit assuming there is no need of structural repairs.

Physical performance below surface:
    Thickness of the leather structure has to be rejuvenated for suppleness otherwise what is done above surface will be cracked thru too soon.

Appearance above surface:
    New like appearance matching original color, micro-pigment so that the overall looks natural and not too plastiky.

Tactile-feel:
    A non-stick, rub-resistant buttery-feel allows the ease of sliding in and out reducing friction wears from compression and stretch thus reduce unwanted creases or wrinkles with Protector-B+ and Protector-D a non-slip draggy feel design for steering wheel and shift knob.

Noise Reduction:
    Noise reduction is associated with friction wear and significantly reduced with Protector-B+.

Leather Scent: