Thread: Pigmented (Two-Tone) - Repair Minor Cat Damage and Soften on Loveseat

Default Pigmented (Two-Tone) - Repair Minor Cat Damage and Soften on Loveseat

I'm completely new to repairing leather damage, but this location appears to be a fantastic guide on fixing such issues. The loveseat below has sat mostly unused in a back room for approx. 5 years, and the leather feels stiff. Household pets have caused some minor damage by running over the armrests, and a bit of painting in the house (water based) has resulted in some minor discoloration.

I'd like to repair the dimples and scratches on the armrests and back (pictures below), remove the small amount of paint reside on the back, and soften the leather to be more supple. I'm fairly sure the leather is painted/protected/finished, and I've looked at the matrix/guide for pigmented leather for cat damage. I'm not sure how the guide references to actually repair to the damage with the appropriate chemicals, but based on past results I feel the guidance from this group will help me improve this piece of furniture to a better state than it is in now.

1. Arm 1
    Name:  arm2.jpg
Views: 463
Size:  271.2 KB

2. Arm 2
    Name:  arm1.jpg
Views: 427
Size:  459.5 KB

3. Sample Back Damage 1
    Name:  back1.jpg
Views: 406
Size:  374.9 KB

4. Paint
    Name:  paint1.jpg
Views: 370
Size:  326.2 KB

5. Stretch Test
    Name:  stretch1.jpg
Views: 316
Size:  338.0 KB

Recommendations, references, and any assistance is more welcome!

Thanks!

>>> I'm fairly sure the leather is painted/protected/finished, and I've looked at the matrix/guide for pigmented leather for cat damage. I'm not sure how the guide references to actually repair to the damage with the appropriate chemicals, but based on past results I feel the guidance from this group will help me improve this piece of furniture to a better state than it is in now.