Thread: Pigmented (Mono-Tone) - Prep-7.7 for a cream colored sectional - How much dwell-time?

Default Pigmented (Mono-Tone) - Prep-7.7 for a cream colored sectional - How much dwell-time?

Hello,

I am a leather repair tech. I saw your product, Prep 7.7 for blue jean dye.

I do this work for fabric protection/leather protection Insurance plans...eg. Guardsman, Guardian etc....and no one covers this type of damage, so I've never had to sweat it.

Now I picked up an account that DOES cover this damage. I was sent the work order for a cream colored sectional. Although the customer said it happened in 1 event, most people lie in order to take advantage of the insurance and have them deal with it so I would say it's probably a years worth of lying around on the furniture while it soaked in the dyes....so I see your product, and it's speaking about dwell time......How much dwell time? Since I perform home visits I can't be there for hours dealing with this.

Thanks,

Sal

Thanks for asking about Dwell-Time.

Quote from - Leather Standard and Reference Cleaning Guide IICRC S300

11.2.4 Time
    It is recommended that the preconditioner or cleaner be allowed 5 to 10 minute of dwell time before proceeding. Dwell time provides the opportunity for the cleaners to fully emulsify or suspend stubborn soils. Exception may be made in cases where color testing reveals unstable dyes. In those cases soil removal must proceed immediately. Preconditioners should not be allowed to dry before soil extraction takes place.

Prep-7.7 is classify as a preconditioner and its normal dwell time if from 10 to 30 minutes, however for stubborn stains it can be left to dwell for up to 72 hours and has to be kept moist with a cling wrapper over it to allow suspended stain to reverse transfer to a much more absorbent paper towel. You may have seen this technique used with flexibility.