PDA

View Full Version : Aniline (Sauvage) - How do I Rectify this Water Damaged (Baby Wipes) Aniline Leather Cushion?

cltucker
04-14-2010, 05:17 PM
Thanks in advance for your help. I have NO knowledge of leather types or care so in-depth advice is greatly appreciated.

Our 2-year old put a bunch of wet baby wipes on our leather chair cushion - I can't give too much info on the type of leather but I believe it is aniline. It left a dark water ring with a slightly lighter area within the ring.

What do I need to repair this, and is it easy enough for me considering I have no experience? How much time and money? Would it be better for me to have it professionally repaired, and if so, can you point me to a resource to find a good service?

Thank you.

http://i761.photobucket.com/albums/xx251/cltucker_album/Leather/IMG_3792.jpg

http://i761.photobucket.com/albums/xx251/cltucker_album/Leather/IMG_3794.jpg

Roger Koh
04-15-2010, 04:05 PM
It is good to know the liquid content of the baby wipes – therefore its brand may help!

The aniline dyes of the leather bleeds or break it’s hydrogen bond with the leather protein fiber especially when foreign liquid exceed its neutral pH value of 3 – 5 toward alkalinity.

Alcohol contents will also cause the dyes to bleed.

The most effective procedure is to neutralize the stain area with a pH 2.0 leather acidifier - using Acidifier-2.0 and extract with rag or towel.

Immediately follows with hydrating and saturating the leather structure completely wet with Hydrator-3.3 and extract with rag or towel.

Continue extracting the wick-up residue every two hours until the stain disappear, otherwise repeat saturating deep enough to feel the wetness on the reverse side.

And extract at wicking up interval until the stain disappear.

Leave to dry and inspect the appearance, repeat if necessary.

When the stain is gone, the leather may feel stiffer that requires to be rejuvenated with Fatliquor5.0.